The annual 2016 awards were handed out and celebrated on the 10th December – we had a great turnout and everything went like clockwork before it was time for the Xmas party festivities! Scroll down for a full list of who won what award…


2016 Club Championship Awards

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
UNDER 6 CHAMPS Boys Liam Rudolph Edward Kent Zayd Khan
Girls Somaya Khan n/a n/a
UNDER 8 CHAMPS Boys Ted Vasey Oliver Kerr Dylan Stuart
Girls Katie Allsop Holly Hirst Beatrice Scott
UNDER 10 CHAMPS Boys Finlay Hawker James Brown Ben Coppola
Girls Amelia Coleman Bobbie O’Brien Lucy Allsop
UNDER 12 CHAMPS Boys Jed Smithson William Shield Joe O’Brien
Girls Esme Devlin Caitlin Loveless Emily Moreve
UNDER 14 CHAMPS Boys Nathan George Oisin Murphy Rizwan Hameed
Girls Ella Coleman Jemma Bowler Abigail Old
UNDER 16 CHAMPS Boys Peter Hewson Morgan Evans Altay Shaw
Girls Zoe Brookes Savannah Hewson Elizabeth Marvelly



2016 Coach’s Vote Awards



Most Improved Road Rider

Taylor Evans

Lia Leonard

Most Improved MTB Rider

Eddie O’Brien

Rayan Osman

Most Improved Time Trial Rider


Elizabeth Marvelly

Most Improved Racer

Oisin Murphy

Lucy Allsop

MTB All Terrain Award

Finnlay Weeks

Alice Whitney



2016 Club Participation Awards

1st Place Runner Up
Runner Up

1st Year Enthusiasm Award

Oscar Beck
Charlie Burchell Brooke Johnson
Club Member of the Year Award
Anastasia Vockic Elizabeth Marvelly Lia Leonard


2016 Committee Vote Awards

  • Young Coach of the Year: Sam Grant
  • Young Volunteer of the Year: Ciaran Reed
  • Gwyn Doel Award for Outstanding Contribution: Dave George
  • Brian Wright “Spirit of Slipstreamers”: Zack Taylor


2016 Member Vote – Favourite Volunteer Award

  • Helper of the Year Award Winner: Paul Moriarty
  • 2nd place: Marco Gaminara
  • 3rd place: Sam Grant


2016 Special Recognition Awards


Jesper Howe

Cycled from Winchester to Rome – 1140 miles in 14 days, climbing over 40,000 feet, and raising over £3000 for Cancer Research.

Jed Smithson, Bobbie O’Brien, Finlay Hawker

These 3 showed consistency throughout the Assen European Youth Tour, coming home with at least one special jersey each. This is the third time that Jed has won the event.

Joe McGuinness

Outstanding sportsmanship – pushed his team mate Tom 25 miles with a puncture so that they could both finish the day’s stage race in the European Youth Tour. Completed his last race with a broken wrist that he acquired on the first lap!

Zoe Brookes

A relative new comer, Zoe achieved an invite to ODA as a guest within 2 years of taking up cycling.

Lorna Bowler

Lorna sacrificed many appearances at club level to compete in very high profile events – Tour of Scotland, Revolution and many more, staying with Slipstreamers whilst completing her commitment to ODA.

Joshua Goraya

The ultimate in sportsmanship – his team mate, Oisin, punctured in the Circuit Club Champs. Josh saw this, and recognising that Oisin was still in with a chance, offered up his own bike so that Oisin could finish 3rd.
Katie Allsop and Finnlay Weeks Two off-road all-stars – on a very challenging weekend in Afan, neither rider found anything too tough, never complained – just climbed up and down those mountains and smiled throughout.
Archie Fowkes

Always a smile on his face, always eager, and possibly the bubbliest and most enthusiast character on a mountain bike. In Wales in particular, Archie was always encouraging and great fun, and there was ever a dull moment in the Prancing Ponies group going up and coming down Y-Wall!

Morgan Evans

Mr Video. Morgan’s contribution to capturing club events on “film” have become the envy of other cycling clubs nationally. Often with only a skeleton brief, he contains the essence of the club for all to see.

Angel Woods

A true example of sheer determination and resilience. Angel had never mountain biked before 2016, but decided she was going to join the Mudslingers in Wales. She attended almost every MTB coaching session so she could do it, and proved her mettle climbing up – and going down! – the Afan mountains and recently at Olympic venue Hadleigh Park.

Alex Jones

Alex has progressed from member to adult volunteer as a rider helper, who still makes time from his own training schedule to share a wealth of knowledge and passion with all our young riders. Whilst aged 17, Alex became the Para National Road Champion and recently attended a Team GB testing camp in Derby.

Sam Grant, Mark Passey, Simon Passey, Ella Buckroyd and Seth Kanaris

5 of our outstanding young coaches and young volunteers who independently organised, managed and delivered our Summer of Cycling programme to the community for a whopping 5 weeks. This was an extremely professionally run series of sessions that raised the profile of the club and encouraged 162 participants to give cycling a go.


Congratulations everyone!